Best Albums 2008!

30 12 2008

Cooper posted her “Best Of” list last week, and so now I bring you mine.  My favorite albums (and one EP) of 2008 are (drumroll please)…

2anhorse An Horse – Rearrange Beds – If you haven’t heard of this Australian duo, you need to go out and buy this album immediately. They are awesome and returning to tour the U.S. in March of 2009. The song, Little Lungs, overwhelms me when I listen to it.

 

kofl Kings of Leon – Only By The Night – If you didn’t fall in love with the Kings of Leon this year, then you live under a rock in the middle of a jungle in some third world country. Only excuse.

 

 

santogold Santogold – Santogold – I’d have to say the same for Santogold that I did for Kings of Leon. Thank goodness she decided to cross the proverbial tracks over from A&R rep to artist.

 

 

killers The Killers -Day and Age – My musical love.

 

 

 

rid Robots In Disguise – We’re In The Music Biz – RID is, well… weird. But weird in a good way. Weird like I think I would have a lot of fun partying with them. This album is usual RID sound – weird but fun to party with.

 

 

tvonradio TV On The Radio – Dear Science – I have a feeling that this album will be on about 90% of the 2008 “Best Of” lists.

 

 

 

ff3 Friendly Fires – Friendly Fires – Enthusiastic and a little bit odd, I love these guys.

 

 

 

 

boniver Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago – Bon Iver is good for my heart. In the way that it’s good to have your heart ripped apart and then mended by music.

 

 

spinnerette Spinnerette – Ghetto Love (EP) – The comeback of my favorite former lead singer of The Distillers is formidable. Now we need Spinnerette to get out on tour to Chicago!

 

 

dcfc Death Cab For Cutie – Narrow Stairs– DCFC doesn’t change up their sound a whole lot from album to album, but it doesn’t matter because their sound is just damn good.

 

 

Posted by Garvey

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 01 2009
Koop

I’m liking the list but I feel you forgot a good one…. Ra Ra Riot – Rhumb Line. I’m in love with it and have been listening to it more than my T&S which means it has to be good.

5 01 2009
Garvey

I dunno, I’m just not feeling the Rioters. Perhaps I haven’t given them enough of a chance, though…

Leave a Reply

